15
Oct
10

Marian Bijlenga :: wall sculptures

KunstisKunst 2010

Marian Bijlenga is a Dutch artists, who creates delicate wall sculptures by arranging spacial forms with natural materials like fibers, horse hair and fish scales. These works are made of painted fish scales.

“I am fascinated by dots, lines and contours, by their rythmical movements but also by the empty space they confine. Instead of drawing on paper, I draw in space by using textile as a material. I work with thread, fabric and horsehair, materials which are soft, light, flexible and open to endless development. The suppleness of textiles gives me the greatest possible freedom to achieve my goal: the discovery of new forms.

For me transparency is a prerequisite. By leaving some space between the structure and the wall the object is freed from its background and interacts with the white wall. It becomes what I call a “Spatial Drawing”. Marian Bijlenga

Websites : Marian Bijlenga and browngrottaarts.com/bijlenga.



Click photo to visit my website

brancolina@yahoo.com

Join 60 other followers


