Jake Hochhalter :: Reinterpreting the Ephemeral

 


 
“An art project from over the summer of 2011 chronicles my life in an ironic way. I wanted to call attention to the fact that pictures are becoming our memories, rather than the moments themselves. We shape our recollections with the rising popularity of mobile devices and digital cameras. Why do we need pictures to remind us of the good times? Why can’t we just slow down and take everything in as it happens?

The irony of this project is that I had to step out of some of my own experiences in order to take the photographs. Since digital pictures have become reference points to our memories, if I don’t exist in them, was I there? Or did the act of taking the photograph become my only real memory?” – Jake Hochhalter

1 thought on “Jake Hochhalter :: Reinterpreting the Ephemeral

Comments are closed.